Hays County Standard Response Protocol Task Force Honored by State Office for Child Safety Initiative

The Hays County Commissioners Court recognized the Standard Response Protocol Task Force September 9 – the Task Force received the State’s J.C. Montgomery Child Safety Award in August for its development of standard response protocols and emergency training for all schools in Hays County. Left to right, County Judge Bert Cobb, M.D., Precinct 2 Commissioner Mark Jones, Precinct 1 Commissioner Debbie Gonzales Ingalsbe, Standard Response Protocol Task Force members Bob Klett, San Marcos PD Assistant Chief; William Schwall, San Marcos Deputy Marshal; Sheriff’s Office Lt. Jeri Skrocki and Hays County Emergency Management Coordinator Kharley Smith, Precinct 3 Commissioner Will Conley and Precinct 4 Commissioner Ray Whisenant.

Hays County Courthouse, San Marcos, TX – The Hays County Office of Emergency Management Standard Response Protocol Task Force has been recognized for its leadership in child safety by the Texas Office for the Prevention of Developmental Disabilities (TOPDD) with the J.C. Montgomery Child Safety Award.

            The TOPDD is the lead office in Texas on the prevention of developmental disability and each year recognizes leadership in child safety, a critical component of the prevention of those disabilities.

            The Hays County OEM Standard Response Protocol Task Force created plans for responding to school emergencies, weather disasters and all other contingencies and trained more than 64,000 students, teachers and officials in 2013. The task force conducted 57 lock-down drills in schools, and according to the TOPDD, “in the face of the many challenges of safety work, they have all shown absolute dedication and robust leadership to safeguard the children of Hays County.”

             “We have had amazing cooperation from all the school districts in Hays County, as well as elected officials countywide,” Hays County Emergency Management Coordinator Kharley Smith, a task force member, said. “Officials take campus security very seriously and it was a pleasure working together to develop the protocols and undertake the training. Anything we can do to provide safety and security for our children, teachers, administrators and parents is paramount to our efforts.”

            In addition to Smith, the task force includes City of San Marcos Deputy Marshal William Schwall, Hays County Sheriff’s Office Lieutenant Jeri Skrocki and San Marcos Police Department Assistant Chief Bob Klett.

The training provided by the task force is based on suggested standard protocol promoted by the “I Love U Guys” Foundation formed after a 2006 school hostage situation in Colorado. The foundation is named after the final text from student Emily Keyes to her family.

             The award was presented to the Task Force in the Lieutenant Governor’s Reception Room at the Texas State Capitol on August 22.

Thursday, September 11, 2014 3:18:00 PM Categories: Press Releases

-September 2014+


  • Entries (745)
  • Comments (0)