Hays County


Historical Commission Garners State Award

-August 2016+


  • Entries (753)
  • Comments (0)
Thursday, August 25, 2016 10:10:00 AM Categories: Press Releases

Historical Commission Garners State Award for Dedication to Local History Education and Preservation

Hays County Courthouse, San Marcos, TX – The Hays County Commissioners Court Tuesday presented the county’s Historical Commission with the Texas Historical Commission’s Distinguished Service Award for its accomplishments in 2015. The award is given each year to local historical commissions that provide “well-rounded programs of history and preservation-related projects.”

In accepting the award for the Hays County Historical Commission, Chair Kate Johnson thanked the dedicated volunteers who serve the Commission.

“Our volunteers did a fabulous job of volunteering in 2015, from educating the public through our historical videos and courthouse museum, cleaning our neglected cemeteries, preserving historic trees and placing historical signs,” Johnson said. The Historical Commission also arranged the purchase and restoration of “History of Cattle Ranching” murals by Buck Winn for the Government Center.

Johnson thanked the Commissioners Court “for allowing us to spread our wings. Without your continued support and encouragement we would not be here to receive this award.”

Photo Below:

Left to right, County Judge Bert Cobb, M.D., Precinct 2 Commissioner Mark Jones,Precinct 1 Commissioner Debbie Gonzales Ingalsbe, Historical Commission members Linda Coker, Marie Bassett, SarahAnn Lowther, Shelley Henry, Robert Frizzell, Commission Chair Kate Johnson, Patricia Randow, Delbert Bassett, Jerry Moore and Carmen Imel, Precinct 3 Commissioner Will Conley and Precinct 4 Commissioner  Ray Whisenant.